Posted in Philosophy, Psychology

Philosophy and depression

I learnt that a number of philosophers were actually quite sad or depressed people. I googled about it and came across this interesting discussion on this subject in this forum.

Someone noted that it could be because those philosophers tend to take themselves too seriously, and hold certain views as absolute instead of recognising that views are meant to be relative and subjective.

“This is true, but I think it’s also possible to obtain depression from taking certain philosophical aspects too seriously. I’d say that readers of philosophy must NOT take reason as some absolute ruling that will give the answers to everything in a strict manner, that sort of thinking could drive a person into corners that they can not get out of.

One example is extreme skepticism, another example is attempting to justify living with pure reason.

I mean these things could drive a man insane, if he takes them too seriously. Philosophy is fluid, reason is fluid, just don’t forget these things and philosophy could only make you happier.” – kkiiji

I suppose the middle path that avoids both extremes of atheist fundamentalism and religious fundamentalism would be ideal as it allows one to keep an open mind about science and spirituality. In the past, I suffered from depression because I thought life was meaningless, and I could relate to what those philosophers felt. Some people call it “existential depression“.

Author:

I am a beloved child of Divine Love/Great Spirit, and so are you. We are spiritual beings on a human journey. My main interests in life include Nature, music, spirituality, inspiration, philosophy, sports, reading and photography.

Leave a Reply

