Posted in Grace

Real rest is the best

Real rest is the best.

Where is the rest?

Rest is in our soul.

In the Internet era, it is easy for us to fall prey to being affected by what we read on the Internet. It takes practice to filter every information we receive through our lens of grace, and to stay calm, cool and collected.

To be sure, there are some things I see on the Internet I don’t like or agree with, such as some religious-sounding comments. There are times I feel tempted to barge in and correct the viewpoints. Other times I feel like I want to google about a topic and address the viewpoints in a particular website. But come to think of it, why go through all the trouble? There will always be something that I will find fault with. Perhaps organised religion is like those pesky ants that sometimes appear out of nowhere on my office desk on some days. The moment I get rid of one ant (by flicking it away from my desk, trying to not squish it), another ant comes crawling on the desk some time later. Am I going to keep myself busy trying to get rid of ants that never seem to stop appearing on my desk and get sidetracked from doing my work?

One main grouse I have with the institutional church at the moment is the agenda they seem to have, after having been familiar with their system for the past eight years or so. At this time of the year, it is unsurprising to hear or read about wonderful promises for the new year ahead from the institutional church. It is like what the gospel should be – that is all about the grace and goodness of God (and I have no problems with that). But wait till a few months later, the church institution will subtly shift the topic to sin management, as if trying to control people’s lives. And as if to discourage people from questioning their doctrines, they will “warn” the congregation about so-called apostasy, and use the oft-quoted lines like “Jesus is the only way” to imply that all other belief systems are wrong.

Besides, this year looks set to be one rife with prophecies, thanks (or no thanks) to many doomsday prophecies about 2012. I think the institutional church will find it hard to resist throwing out some prophecies themselves – no, they won’t try to predict a particular date (since they thought Jesus said no man knows the hour), but they will attempt to tell people about a “future rapture” and how the poor unbelieving masses of people will be “left behind” in a chaotic Earth that will “literally burn up” some day in future.

So, if 2011 is the year of debunking the myth of a literal hell, then 2012 looks like it’s gonna be a year of debunking the myth of a future literal “rapture”. Maybe it’s about time to do a book review of “Revelation – The most embarrassing book in the Bible” by Andrew Corbett one of these days.

In the meantime, I’d better focus on staying in peace and enjoy the immense good — the kingdom of God – within me, and not get distracted by the turns and twists of events happening around me in the world. At least one good thing I learnt from the institutional church when I was still attending their services is that I need to guard my heart and remain in peace.  “A tranquil heart is life to the body, and health to the bones.” (from the book of Proverbs)

Author:

I am a beloved child of Divine Love/Great Spirit, and so are you. We are spiritual beings on a human journey. My main interests in life include Nature, music, spirituality, inspiration, philosophy, sports, reading and photography.

Leave a Reply

