Posted in Identity, Love

“The Still, Small Voice of Love” ~ Henri Nouwen

“Many voices ask for our attention. There is a voice that says, “Prove that you are a good person.” Another voice says, “You’d better be ashamed of yourself.” There  also is a voice that says, “Nobody really cares about you,” and one that says, “Be sure to become successful, popular, and powerful.” But underneath all these often very noisy voices is a still, small voice that says, “You are my Beloved, my favor rests on you.” That’s the voice we need most of all to hear. To hear that voice, however, requires special effort; it requires solitude, silence, and a strong
determination to listen.

That’s what prayer is. It is listening to the voice that calls us “my Beloved.”

– Henri J. M. Nouwen

I love this piece of writing by Henri Nouwen. It carries truth and wisdom. The still, small voice within us is indeed saying, “You are My beloved. My favour rests on you”. Any other voice is from outside, either from the society or from the ego or our false identity that is based on performance mindset or circumstances. But the still, small voice, as we know, comes from our true identity, our divine higher self, and is always seeking to reconcile us to ourselves and experience inner peace and unconditional love.

It is vital that we listen and heed the still, small voice within us that affirms us about our belovedness and innocence and perfection, which will help us overcome any sense of rejection. If someone has been listening to outside voices rather than the still, small voice, hence he/she probably would have been feeling a sense of rejection, and end up not showing love and acceptance towards himself/herself and others. I used to be prone to the sense of rejection when I was younger, especially when I was in school. It’s over many years of reading self-help books and spiritual books and meditating on the truth of our belovedness that help me to recover and remember my true divine self and learn to love and accept myself and others. We are indeed made in the image of God, who is love.

Author:

I am a beloved child of Divine Love/Great Spirit, and so are you. We are spiritual beings on a human journey. My main interests in life include Nature, music, spirituality, inspiration, philosophy, sports, reading and photography.

6 thoughts on ““The Still, Small Voice of Love” ~ Henri Nouwen

      1. Thanks for your encouraging comments, James. I have checked out Rev Normal’s post as you have suggested. It is good to know that Henri Nouwen’s book is helping him to think, question and work through the concept of a journey toward “home” and a process of becoming “home.” You have also made a good point in your comment that “we don’t have to search for home at all. Rather, we just need to relax into it, recognising that the mind and the ego are not all powerful.” Indeed, for the kingdom of God is within us, and home is where the heart is, as i have come to realise. Peace and blessings to you.

  1. Reblogged this on Meanderings and commented:
    I’m reblogging this wonderful piece, because it fits in so perfectly with my last blog here…I need to push all those other voices aside and let this be the message I hear. Happy reading all!

  2. Hi, I hope you don’t mind me reblogging this…my last blog was about all the negative chatter going on in my head and my constant attempts to fling positive messages into the fray…your post here is a perfect follow-up. It’s what I need to do, push all the other stuff aside and focus on these precious words. Thank you!

    1. Hi Sharon, I don’t mind at all. I am honoured that you are reblogging my post. I am glad this post is helpful and timely for you. I think we all go through times of uncertainty and doubt about ourselves. Earlier today, I was doubting my own worth, hence I decided to post a new blog post about finding solitude where our hearts can grow in love. I happened to decide to add related websites to this post as well. It is refreshing to know the little things I do make a positive difference in other people’s lives. Peace and blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

