Posted in Identity

Paradigm shift in understanding the gospel of grace

My understanding of the gospel has changed from an evangelical viewpoint to an inclusive viewpoint. The evangelical view of the gospel tends to revolve around the finished work of Jesus Christ at the cross in terms of penal substitution. For example, about a couple of years ago, I used to think that all of God’s blessings have been freely given to me through the cross of Jesus Christ. While that sounds like good news to me back then, it doesn’t sound that good to me today because my mindset has evolved since then.

After all, come to think of it, does God need Jesus’ sacrifice in order to bless me? Why not bless me right away? Is God the kind of Judge that requires payment for some “sin debt” before He is willing or able to bless someone?

So, my answer to the above questions is: No, God is not that kind of Judge who demands an eye for an eye, unlike what most religious christian institutions and preachers said. I have come to think that the reason we are blessed is because we are already one with Christ and co-heirs with Him. Christ is simply a manifestation of our true identity – spiritual beings on a human journey. Christ is not exclusive, but rather inclusive. We are already one with God because in Him we live and move and have our being.

Author:

I am a beloved child of Divine Love/Great Spirit, and so are you. We are spiritual beings on a human journey. My main interests in life include Nature, music, spirituality, inspiration, philosophy, sports, reading and photography.

Leave a Reply

