Posted in Identity, Meditation

My default mode/mood is joy

On my way back to office from lunch yesterday, this line of thought came to me:

“Our default mode (and mood) is joy, which comes from resting in our true identity (as Beloved and Innocent).”

Yea, like what I learnt from Osho’s post on how life is a cosmic joke, I can rest in the knowledge that all that I need is already within me, and that knowledge produces a deep sense of joy, which is my default mode – it is also my default mood because as a normal human being, I may experience different moods from time to time – happy or sad, high or low, etc – but I have come to realise that perhaps there is a default mood, which remains more or less constant – that steady, stable place where I can rest in – and that default mood is joy, because when everything else is stripped away and all the conditionings of the world, whether religious or social conditionings, are removed from my mindset, what remains in my innermost being has to be – not sadness, not sorrow, not even happiness (which depends on happenings outside) but joy, which brings to mind Jesus’ words – “I (our true divine Self) will see you again, and your heart will rejoice, and your joy (the joy of the Lord, our true identity) no one will take away from you.” (John 16:22)

I have come across some meditation techniques in a book yesterday while browsing books in the library, and one meditation technique suggests practising laughter for one week, and then crying for the second week, and then remain neutral and silent for the third week. To me, this meditation practice might work for some, but it sounds a bit too structured for me – I prefer to remain spontaneous when it comes to expressing emotions or moods. So that was how the above line of thought came to me just now – to rest in our true identity, and remain in the default mode/mood of joy.

Author:

I am a beloved child of Divine Love/Great Spirit, and so are you. We are spiritual beings on a human journey. My main interests in life include Nature, music, spirituality, inspiration, philosophy, sports, reading and photography.

One thought on “My default mode/mood is joy

Leave a Reply

