Posted in Identity, Love

How does someone overcome self-hatred?

A question was asked in Yahoo Answers – “How does someone overcome self-hatred?” The following is my response.

For me, I have come to realise that self-hatred is more than a psychological condition, as it is a spiritual condition. I have tried meditation and deep breathing in the past, for example, and experienced momentary peace, but sooner or later, I would be struggling with self-hatred again, as sometimes I would reject myself based on how I look, or condemn myself over little mistakes I made.

Eventually, I came to learn to overcome self-hatred by changing the way I look at myself (through reading inspirational books and listening to empowering messages), and start seeing myself made in the image of God/Divine Love/Great Spirit. I also learn not to internalise the hurtful words others said about me in the past, as I was a victim of school bullying.

So, I believe the key to overcoming self-hatred is to remember that you are a divine being who is already perfect and beautiful. Your true identity does not depend on your performance. You are not defined by your actions/mistakes or by what others say about you, but by who you really are in essence. Like what a friend said, you can love yourself for who you are and not what you are going to become.

Peace and blessings.

Author:

I am a beloved child of Divine Love/Great Spirit, and so are you. We are spiritual beings on a human journey. My main interests in life include Nature, music, spirituality, inspiration, philosophy, sports, reading and photography.

One thought on “How does someone overcome self-hatred?

Leave a Reply

