Posted in Identity, Science

Reflections on “Why Pluto is No Longer a Planet”

I have read this interesting article “Why Pluto is No Longer a Planet” and the comments that followed. I remember when I was working on a secondary one geography textbook back in 1999-2000, I have asked the artist to draw the sun and nine planets in our solar system, which was considered a scientific fact then. Later around 2007-2008, when I was browsing through a new edition of the geography textbook, I noticed it depicted only eight planets in our solar system. At first I thought it was an error, then after reading up about it, I realised the scientists in the astronomy circles have decided that Pluto is no longer a planet for some reasons. So this change has to be reflected in school textbooks.

After reading the comments in the article, I can understand the human sentiments attached to Pluto. After all, many of us grew up learning in schools that there are nine planets, and it takes some time to adjust our mindset to this change. It also causes us to question the criteria used by the scientists to define what a planet is. I am not sure what the third criterion “clearing the orbit” is all about, as it seems arbitrary, as noted by some people.

Humans, being human, tend to ascribe our human aspirations and emotions onto inanimate objects, and so some of us are sympathetic towards Pluto for being “demoted” to a dwarf planet status. But for all we know, that piece of rock in outer space does not care whether humans call it a planet or dwarf planet. It is what it is. Just like as a human being, we can say I am who I am. Whether others may call us this or that, whether they promote us or demote us by human standards, our true identity remains unchanged. We remain a beloved child of God/Universe. So is Pluto. We are all One.

“A weed is only a weed, because humankind has named it so, in the eyes of the Divine all plants are the same.
In other words it does not matter what others call you or say to you, be proud of who you are and what you do.”
Author:

I am a beloved child of Divine Love/Great Spirit, and so are you. We are spiritual beings on a human journey. My main interests in life include Nature, music, spirituality, inspiration, philosophy, sports, reading and photography.

Leave a Reply

