Posted in Inspiration, Nature

Thoughts on “Alone in the wild”

I have watched the first half hour of the video on “Alone in the wild” earlier this morning, having gone through the first three 10-minute segments of the video series, and I find it intriguing. I can relate to some aspects of the adventurer’s experiences because when I was a child, I also dreamt of exploring the wilderness around the world. I also have read a few books written by Nature explorers and adventurers while I was growing up, and I learnt that while they enjoyed the tranquility and beauty of the natural scenery in places such as mountains and forests, they also had to learn how to cope with their own survival and well-being, especially for those travelling all by themselves. Being far away from human civilisation and coping with loneliness in the big wilderness out there for many days can be a big psychological challenge at times. In comparison, my own solo night camp in the rainforest in Pulau Ubin during my junior college days is nothing compared to what these adventurers have undergone. Besides, I’ve become very much a city dweller by now, and I’m not sure if I could adapt to that kind of rigour in surviving in the wilderness for a long period of time, though the spirit of wanderlust and adventure still resides in my heart. I still love to go hiking and do nature photography wherever and whenever I can or am inspired to these days.

Someone commented in YouTube that boiling a fish keeps nutrients in the water. I guess he could make fish soup too. I then googled about how to scale and gut a fish as I am curious to know how this is done. I guess I can apply such knowledge if/when I get to cook a fish or go fishing in the wild in future.

I admire the adventurer for being real and honest in showing how he was dealing with the physical and psychological challenges in living in the wilderness. He’s an inspiration, and I take my hat off to him for surviving for 50 days in that kind of tough environment.

Author:

I am a beloved child of Divine Love/Great Spirit, and so are you. We are spiritual beings on a human journey. My main interests in life include Nature, music, spirituality, inspiration, philosophy, sports, reading and photography.

Leave a Reply

