Posted in Equality, Freedom

Reflections on propaganda

This is a continuation of my train of thoughts based on my blog “Some thoughts about propaganda“.

As much as I am aghast to know about how the authorities have resorted to manipulate the masses through propaganda to gain power and control, I am not really surprised that this has happened because as long as there is greed and fear, people will do all kinds of things for their own advantage at the expense of others.

While I hate what they are doing, I need to watch it because what I hate, I will become. Similarly, what I fight will ignite, and what I resist will persist.

So, I am not going to fight against the system. At least I am not going to play their game. Let them play their own game and let them get their fingers burnt by playing with their own dangerous fire.

The Universe has its way of restoring its own balance. I can stay at peace and not get myself distracted by the roller-coaster. Only when I am at peace am I be in a position to impact others with peace.

At the same time, I believe by staying aware of the propaganda, I can make informed decisions on how to live my life without harming myself and others, when it comes to deciding what kinds of food to eat, for example.

I believe more and more people are awakening too, as they are also questioning the norms and traditions of the society. For example, people are leaving the institutional churches. People are seeking the right to know what is in their food. And people are protesting against big corporations and governments for not taking necessary actions to safeguard the interests of the populations. We are in good company of like-minded brothers and sisters.

Ecclesiastes chapter 1
2 “Meaningless! Meaningless!”
says the Teacher.
“Utterly meaningless!
Everything is meaningless.”
3 What do people gain from all their labors at which they toil under the sun?
4 Generations come and generations go, but the earth remains forever.
5 The sun rises and the sun sets,
and hurries back to where it rises.
6 The wind blows to the south
and turns to the north;
round and round it goes,
ever returning on its course.
7 All streams flow into the sea,
yet the sea is never full.
To the place the streams come from,
there they return again.
8 All things are wearisome,
more than one can say.
The eye never has enough of seeing,
nor the ear its fill of hearing.
9 What has been will be again,
what has been done will be done again;
there is nothing new under the sun.
10 Is there anything of which one can say, “Look! This is something new”?
It was here already, long ago;
it was here before our time.
11 No one remembers the former generations,
and even those yet to come
will not be remembered
by those who follow them.

Yes, there is nothing new under the sun and life seems meaningless as history repeats itself because as long as there is greed and fear, there will be inequality and injustice. Maybe the only hope is not out there in the world but is within each person’s heart – for every oppression, there is a Martin Luther King Jr; for every discrimination, there is a Mahatma Gandhi; for every poverty, there is a Mother Teresa; and for every setback and disappointment, there is a Helen Keller. Through the power of one and the ripple effect, each of us can make a positive difference in a negative world. We can always begin a new chapter of hope, so to speak, in a world where there seem many bleak endings. Love always wins.

If we are peaceful, if we are happy, we can smile and blossom like a flower, and everyone in our family, our entire society, will benefit from our peace.” (From “Being Peace” by Thich Nhat Hanh)

Author:

I am a beloved child of Divine Love/Great Spirit, and so are you. We are spiritual beings on a human journey. My main interests in life include Nature, music, spirituality, inspiration, philosophy, sports, reading and photography.

One thought on “Reflections on propaganda

Leave a Reply

