Posted in Psychology, Unity and harmony

Gentleness is a mark of true strength

Yes, rudeness is the weak person’s imitation of strength because the person is resorting to using rudeness to put down others instead of engaging in a discussion with them in a rational and civil manner. It reminds me of some examples given in Darin Hufford’s book “The misunderstood God“, in which many preachers project a rude or abrasive god in their sermons, one who chides or criticises his creations routinely and dismissively. I think it reflects the mentality that the preachers have about “strength equating rudeness”. But that is not so in reality because gentleness or gentility is true strength – it is said that “gentleness is strength under control”. It takes a truly strong man to conquer himself than to conquer a thousand men in the battlefield, as a proverb goes.

Author:

I am a beloved child of Divine Love/Great Spirit, and so are you. We are spiritual beings on a human journey. My main interests in life include Nature, music, spirituality, inspiration, philosophy, sports, reading and photography.

4 thoughts on “Gentleness is a mark of true strength

  1. Hi Jimmy,
    I also think it is very important to be gentle to oneself. Too often, we have been programmed into hating ourselves, and the load of pain and shame is so great that we forget to appreciate who we were born to be. I am working to be more loving to myself each day – also I am trying to be more mindful of my constant and somewhat unconscious judgments of others. Gentleness is an innate trait, but it can also be cultivated.

    1. Hi merma0499

      That is true. Being gentle to ourselves is just as important, if not more important, because unless we are gentle to ourselves, it can be difficult to be gentle with others. I also grew up struggling with self-acceptance, and I am still on a journey to loving myself and others through practising non-judgment. As you said, gentleness (which is an innate trait) can be cultivated (through practising mindfulness). I appreciate your sharing of insights to add to my post.

Leave a Reply

