Posted in Healing, Inspiration, Meditation

Drifting

cloud in the sky over Punggol July 2012

I find that I am often drawn to clouds. I like to watch clouds drifting in the sky. I feel that I am also like a cloud drifting aimlessly. One of my favourite poems by William Wordsworth began with the verse “I wandered lonely as a cloud that floats on high o’er vales and hills,”

Clouds captivate me maybe because I can relate to its wandering nature. They also have a mystical nature, and do not have concrete forms. They are ever evolving, changing every moment. There was a time in the mid 90s when I felt intensely lonely and life appeared meaningless. I was studying in university after serving 2 years of National Service, during which I felt most days passed by without any sense of real direction. I decided to write a poem called “Drifting” to express the emptiness and depression I felt, which was inspired by a new age music/song called “Drifting” by Suzanne Ciani. You can listen to it here.

A few years ago, I decided to share my poem online here. Today, I still find myself captivated by clouds in the sky, as I feel a close affinity to them and can relate to their nature. I have come to accept my destiny (and reality) that I am forever drifting like a cloud, and I am also learning to see that my destination is in my journey, philosophically speaking. This perspective has helped made my journey in life more bearable (and meaningful) in a way.

The imagery in William Wordsworth also inspired me to take photos of clouds, such as the ones at the beginning and end of this post.

clouds in the sky Punngol July 2012

Author:

I am a beloved child of Divine Love/Great Spirit, and so are you. We are spiritual beings on a human journey. My main interests in life include Nature, music, spirituality, inspiration, philosophy, sports, reading and photography.

One thought on “Drifting

Leave a Reply

