Posted in Peace, Rest

Zen and the art of doing nothing

Sea shore
Sea shore (Photo credit: WELS.net)

I came across this interesting website while finding time to rest from work. I thought it is a simple yet important exercise to do nothing for 2 minutes, though it may not be as easy as it sounds, since I had to resist the urge to just do something even while I was resting earlier on, such as checking emails and so on. But I think listening to the sound of the waves in the website is helpful because somehow the sound of the waves on the seashore resembles the sound of my own breathing, which has a calming and relaxing effect on me.

I suppose I am not alone in facing this because this Zen article also recognises that doing nothing is an art that needs to be honed and practised over time. The article concluded that the art of doing nothing cannot be mastered overnight and it will take hours and hours of practice, of hard work, but we will enjoy every minute of it, and we can try it today.

Author:

I am a beloved child of Divine Love/Great Spirit, and so are you. We are spiritual beings on a human journey. My main interests in life include Nature, music, spirituality, inspiration, philosophy, sports, reading and photography.

Leave a Reply

