Posted in Peace, Philosophy, Psychology

Living an examined life and making peace with ourselves

I came across this website yesterday on the history of a civil war in Cambodia in the 1970s. I was thinking to myself maybe it is good to read about and remember such events of atrocities, so as to be continually in touch with human sufferings and pains. I usually tend to avoid dwelling too much on such news and stories because it can be perplexing and emotionally draining to read and mull over them, but then again, just focusing on positive news all the time can somewhat result in an imbalance in my overall outlook of life. So I am reflecting that to live an examined life is to include my awareness of the sufferings I see in the world, and learn some lessons on human nature, such as the insights shared in the website concerning the genocide in Cambodia.

“As we observe the victims, they are observing us. We are taking the pictures and we are having our pictures taken. As our eyes meet, we are all, in a sense, potential victims, perpetrators and passersby. By absorbing the photos we can partake of the terror that ruled Cambodia between April 1975 and the first few days of 1979. In the process, we can also learn something about what Jung has called our shadow selves.”

(From “The Killing Fields“)

Yes, come to think of it, I wouldn’t know how I might have acted if I were born in Cambodia in the 1970s and were recruited as a child soldier and brainwashed by the regime. Would I have participated in the genocide? Or what if I were one of the victims of the genocide? As the article concluded, everyone has a shadow self, and the genocide may be a valuable lesson for humanity to embrace and come to terms with our shadow side, and also embrace pains and sufferings as part of our human experience in life. Perhaps this awareness and acceptance can paradoxically bring about more peace on earth because we would have learnt to make peace with ourselves and within ourselves.

 

Author:

I am a beloved child of Divine Love/Great Spirit, and so are you. We are spiritual beings on a human journey. My main interests in life include Nature, music, spirituality, inspiration, philosophy, sports, reading and photography.

Leave a Reply

