To be or not to be wise

The writer of Ecclesiastes wrote, “The wise man’s eyes are in his head, but the fool walks in darkness. And yet I know that one fate befalls them both. Then I said to myself, “As is the fate of the fool, it will also befall me. Why then have I been extremely wise?” So I said to myself, “This too is vanity.””

So, whether I am wise or whether I am foolish, I will still die one day. So the question naturally arises: If the same fate befalls both the wise and the foolish, and both will inevitably die one day, why be wise then? Why be foolish? It will all be in vain, won’t it? Or is it really in vain?

Maybe like Proverbs 9:12 says, if I am wise, let me be wise for myself, so as not to bear the folly of being foolish. So yes, I will still die one day, whether I be wise or foolish, but at least, I can tell myself that I have chosen to live well, or live wisely, or live consciously, as much as I can. What remains to be seen is: How do I go about doing that? That is my ongoing challenge and mission in life.

Leave a comment